Posted in Music

Dear Chester (minutes to midnight)

So I am probably going to be the millionth person to add to the mourning of Chester Bennington. It’s been an interesting few days talking over this with some folk.

I “met” your band many years ago when I lived in a town called Ladysmith.
Hybrid Theory awoken the world to some epic music!!! (I remember having One Step Closer screaming out the boot of my friend’s car. And we stood their like cool kids.) I think we even attempting screaming with you.

At clubs, just after our school years, we’d be moshing out on the dance floor to the sounds of Linkin Park.

When my dad had his stroke in 2007 and I went over to the UK, minutes to midnight became my sound track to those few weeks in such a wonderful country. I can still see (in my memory) the streets of St Albans; where I heard a particular song from that album. (yes, music transports people.)

These songs moved me a lot and have been added to the soundtrack of my life at some point:

1) Crawling
2) Place for my head
3) Hands held high
4) Leave out all the rest
5) Faint
6) Numb

There are more… in fact, like I said, above, the whole album (minutes to midnight) can be added…

It’s sad that you as a rock star, had unnecessary expectations placed on you. That sucks! I’m sorry that you had no one to speak to with the crap you were going through. That you had to get to the point that ending your life… would be the way out…

Chester, thank you for bringing your artistry to the world.
Bringing your heartfelt lyrics to the world.
The dark ones, the positive ones, all have helped others through times in their lives.

You may never know the impact your lyrics had on moving people from a place of pain.

Chester, rest “in pieces”

We do care, that “one more light” has gone out…

Godspeed,

A face in the crowd at Sonisphere 2009

Author:

I am an aspiring and up and coming writer. Dubbed the wondering wanderer. Do come check out my stories.

Leave a Reply

