Posted in Church, People, South Africa

Dear Secunda,

When they left for AUS, Lee had mentioned in one of her statuses on FB; “it’s the people not the place that make a place” (something to that effect)

That has stayed with me. There is some truth in that. Wherever you are it’s the people that matter.  That make a place for you.

Secunda, has been a good chapter.  A short one, but it has been full.

Here are some of my observations of things, in no particular order:

(Why am I writing? It’s thing I do. I like to take stock of my life. Count my blessings, if you will.  Read on if you like. If you don’t,  it doesn’t matter.)

Of recycling:
I started a recycling project in Secunda last year. It’s still an “infant” in its life span. But my prayer is that it won’t remain a project. That implies it has a start and an end.
Recycling is a lifestyle.
I hope the people at St Peters live differently and think green. The recycling can expand further. I’d be stoked if that happens!

Of love and wedding:
A lot of people move to Secunda for Sasol. A job there. I moved here for love. And what an incredible journey that has been.
Our venue was a quaint coffee shop. If you ever visit Secunda go check out #EataLot
And the day of the wedding was in the windy month of August… but on the 8th… there was no wind. It was a glorious day!
And I married the lady who stole my heart. ♡

Of studying:
Because life has been quieter and the urge in me was growing stronger I started studying through #Unisa again last year June. 3 semesters down. 10 subjects passed. I’m on my way to getting a general management degree in Business. Excited about this journey.

Of football and soccer club:
One of my highlights of Secunda is meeting the guys through field and indoor soccer.
For a few months we got to play on Sundays at the sasol club. On their fields. Was good fun! (Until the greed of management kicked us out. Pun not intended.) Greed always ruins things.

The soccer club is a brilliant little bar/pub with cheap beers and amazing football memorabilia strewn across the walls and the ceiling. On match day the vibe would be great in there as various premier league fans gathered to watch the screening game.

Of children’s ministry:
Most of ministry has involved teens (in the previous years). in Secunda I had only three or four teens.
So I had to focus more on the children in the Sunday School. A different focus for me but I enjoyed it. Kids are often keen!

Of exiting the church:
I’m excited to be leaving the church. For the first time in 15 years I won’t be a paid staff member of the church.

I can visit a church with Catherine not being known by anyone. And not “being paid to be there” (not that my relationship with Jesus was dependent on a salary… but I’m sure those who have been on ministry understand what I mean.)

Of Sasol and the “fresh air”:
I can’t wait to not see thr pollution of Sasol anymore.
My new view from our new home will be that of a sea view (estate agent sea view) and a mountain. And some vineyards too.
To breathe is fresh air is gonna be a “breath of fresh air” 😉

Then I always I didn’t understand how to residents of Secunda never got cheaper petrol prices. The residents have to suck in Sasol’s pollution . The least they can do is give cheaper petrol.

Of St Peters and people:
Meeting with the folk from St Peters at church or a social is like one big family gathering.
There is the one uncle with the jokes.
There is the one grandfather with the long stories.
There are the cute children running around.
There is the nosey aunt.
The grumpy. The joyful.
The committed.
St Peters has it all.
Hospitality is this church’s strength.
I’m thankful to have been part of the ‘family’ and with leaving… I still feel part of the family. Just at a distance.

I’ve made some friends along the way here. Jannie, Reinier and a few others.
Thanks everyone!

Of tourism and green spaces:
When they designed this town the planned many “green belts” – I liked that. With paths and benches.
A very good idea. (Obviously in SA, crime ruins the safe feeling of those spaces. But TIA, right?)


Soooo… whenever you live in a town you should be able to promote it as a tourguide. Well, that’s one of my philosophies.

If you ever pop into Secunda.

Eish! On the waterfront is a brilliant spot. A good South African feeling restaurant. On Secundas waterfront. (Inland style. Haha ;))
In fact there are a few places to eat at at the waterfront. Or to just ‘keuer’ (don’t know how to spell that.)
Also playing adventure golf along the water edge is pretty cool.

Then the duckpond is worth checking out. Lots of space to walk the dogs, go for a run or a ride, or to have a braai. On the weekends there is a little steam train that runs on a small track. Kids love it. Mind you, adults too.

Decent coffee shops. Symphony’s and “Eat a Lot”


Secunda, it’s been real!

See you (in blog world) in 2017!

Author:

I am an aspiring and up and coming writer. Dubbed the wondering wanderer. Do come check out my stories.

Leave a Reply

