Posted in Inspirational

Not just another project…

“Recycling is not just another project, it’s a lifestyle”

IMG_20161103_093526.jpg

The other day, a guy who is currently, working on a church premises, comes up to me (while I’m sorting out the recycling) and says “It’s nice that you’re doing something for nature.”

But they way he delivered the comment was as if he were talking to some kid doing a primary school project.
(Now, I don’t know him well enough to know the intention of the delivery of his comment…) – however it still got me thinking.

I discovered the need for recycling in the UK.
The idea grabbed me and convicted me.
When I got back to South Africa, I could not just go back to life without recycling.
Living in Durban North, I was thrilled that that area did recycling.
Then I moved to Hillcrest. They (the municipality) collected recycling. Perfect! (And the recyclables that they didn’t collect I took once a week to a local depot.)

Then I moved to Secunda. There was no public recycling! 😦 That broke my heart.

I would still collect recycling though. (And when I drove through to JHB to visit my friend) – I would bring all the recycling with.

I could just NOT GO BACK to life without recycling.

Fast forward, a year.
The church I work for, has been recycling.
And we take (transport) the recyclables to a local collection centre)

My hope is that this has brought awareness to each person involved.
But so much more than that, a lifestyle change too!

This is NOT JUST A PROJECT.
This is sustainable living.

Quite frankly, all businesses should recycle. And definitely churches and christian organisations. One of our very first mandates (instructions) from God is to care for his earth!!

So I am leaving Secunda, end of the year.
The recycling will continue.
For that I am thankful.

I’ve started it.
My prayer and hope is that it will step up to another level.

Author:

I am an aspiring and up and coming writer. Dubbed the wondering wanderer. Do come check out my stories.

Leave a Reply

