Posted in Music

The ABC’s of good ROCK music!

As all children need to learn their ABC’s… so do those who are introduced to the wide world of (rock) music.  Maybe you have heard of these bands and maybe you haven’t.

For the ones you haven’t – do yourself a favour and go and check them out. Rock on!

(Feel free to click on some of the links and see where they lead you…either a video, song or a band bio)

A – Anberlin – does this song make you feel good?
B – Biffy Clyro – “I pronounce it aluminium, ‘Cause there’s an I next to the U and M”
C – Counting Crows

images
D – Dave Matthews Band – one of the best live acts I have ever seen.
E – Enter Shikari – this is the first video of theirs I ever saw and fell in love with them 🙂
F – Funeral for a Friend – this song always takes me into oblivion
G – Gaslight Anthem
H – Hugh Masekela
I – Incubus – you may just DIG this video  (they have a way with lyrics )
J – Jon Foreman (He writes very well.  Profound thoughts)
K – Kings of Leon
LLifehouse
M – Mat Kearney

 

which_one_stands_out__by_nemrot
One Black Sheep – fun video here

N – New Volume (a new band on the scene. Friends of mine)
O – Of Monsters and Men – this song of theirs was in this Film
P – P.O.D & (People live here)
Rise against have the ability to both push out hardcore rock songs that have you screaming along and then they can offer these breath taking ballads that make you feel so connected to your humanity.

Q – Queensryche
I discovered this band back in 1993 on the Last Action Hero soundtrack which is actually pretty cool. (The world seemed a lot more innocent back then)

RRelient K
S – Switchfoot & (Sound of Silence)
My wife showed me this video recently.  (A brilliant cover from the band, Disturbed – who we would not expect to do such great justice to the original song.  Captivating!)
T – Twin Forks
I am sure a lot of you haven’t discovered these guys yet. The lead singer is originally from Dashboard Confessional. Folk music at its best.
U – (The) Used – they have always had clever artwork
V – Vocal Few
W – Weezer
X – X – I had to throw on these South African Rock Legends.  I believe to be named after the Springbok Hit Parade compilations.
YYellow Card
Z – Zooropa = – an album from U2.  I really like their song NUMB – one of their better songs!  (Bizarre video too.)

What would your ABC of rock music look like?

Author:

I am an aspiring and up and coming writer. Dubbed the wondering wanderer. Do come check out my stories.

3 thoughts on “The ABC’s of good ROCK music!

Leave a Reply

