Posted in Faith, Music

Rock of Ages – cleft for me

At my late father in law’s memorial service on Friday, we sang the beautiful hymn; Rock of Ages.

My wife and I spoke wondered about the meaning of “cleft for me

We discovered a brilliant explanation:

The line is: “Rock of Ages, cleft for me, let me hide myself in thee.” So figuratively, Christ is a solid, immovable, steady, unchanging rock, and has something to do with being “cleft” or “cleaved” on for me – so there’s a split in the rock that I can hide in. OK. Still lost on “cleft” a little.

cleft: noun [kleft] definition: 1. a space or opening made by or as if by splitting, 2. split or sever (something), esp. along a natural line or grain, 3. make a way through (something) forcefully, as if by splitting it apart.

Isn’t that a beautiful image?
We can hide in God.
And we will be safe in God.

Very encouraging indeed.

Here is a great rendition of that song:

Author:

I am an aspiring and up and coming writer. Dubbed the wondering wanderer. Do come check out my stories.

Leave a Reply

