Posted in Faith, Inspirational

What I’ve learnt…over the past week.

Here are a collection of pieces, pictures and quotes and thoughts I have had during the past week.  Last week, 15 youth pastors and two ministers headed off to Moolmanshoek in the Freestate for a week retreat.  I came back to peruse through some emails and some blogs.  I love how inspiration and wisdom visits me via my inbox…

BSarA2MCQAAffgS

I love the imagery of that quote.  Rain never misses the ground.  So our meditating on God’s word; can be the same.   I respect how Catherine (*my wife) really sits with scripture and ponders on what God is saying through those ancient and spiritual words.

I then I received this quote which is the conversation story of someone:

“In my twenty-seventh year, while riding the metro in Leningrad (now St. Petersburg) I was overcome with a despair so great that life seemed to stop at once, preempting the future entirely, let alone any meaning. Suddenly, all by itself, a phrase astonished: ‘Without God life makes no sense.’ Repeating it in astonishment, I rode the phrase up like a moving staircase, got out of the metro and walked into God’s light.”Adrei Bitov

I like how he explains that moment.  I like how he refers to himself walking into God’s light.  Beautiful imagery indeed.  And so profoundly true too.  It’s been awhile since, I’ve heard people refer to meeting with God in that way.

And how can we go wrong with a quote from CS Lewis:

“Sainthood lies in the habit of referring the smallest actions to God.”

Then this quote is brilliant:

“Whatever you dislike in another person, take care to correct in yourself.” Thomas Sprat

Reminded me of a Casting Crowns song : Jesus, friend of sinners. How good (and clever) are these lyrics:

“Oh Jesus, friend of sinners
Open our eyes to world at the end of our pointing fingers”

And perhaps you may find encouragement from the Psalms, this verse also arrived in my inbox:

download

Have a good week ahead!
Darrel

Author:

I am an aspiring and up and coming writer. Dubbed the wondering wanderer. Do come check out my stories.

Leave a Reply

