Posted in Wonder and Beauty

The winter of the soul (and Secunda)

I sit here on this WET winter morning.
Finally! This town has been overdue some rain.
It’s been a while since, a dreary day has been so welcome!

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about the winter of Secunda and the winter of the soul.
That phrase reminds me of the dark night of the soul

candle in the dark

I observe how dry and brown and lifeless the grass here is.
I see the the leafless trees alongside the road crying out for Spring.
And even the trees that have some leaves remaining. Even those, brown and shriveled look as if they’re struggling to hold on.
The land looks thirsty.
It’s full of despair.

But we know, from our life experience:
That Spring is on her way.
The other day, I came across a photo I took in the summer at the local duck pond.
The grass was green and lush and full of life.

What a contrast!

Sometimes we may even experience that “winter” in our souls.
Life seems dry.
We seem to go from one hurdle to another…
Our lives, our passion feels “cold”

And you know what, that’s okay.
Because we know… the warmth is coming…
The growth is coming…

As Isaiah so cleverly explained it here:

“Forget the former things;
do not dwell on the past.
See, I am doing a new thing!
Now it springs up; do you not perceive it?
I am making a way in the wilderness
and streams in the wasteland.”

Isn’t that good news?
So, hang on my friends…

Our lives have seasons.
And each season comes with it joy and difficulties.

But you’ll be okay!

Author:

Sometimes I find the right words to describe things around me.

One thought on “The winter of the soul (and Secunda)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.