Posted in Inspirational, Music

Damien Rice is back, and nostalgia meets me…

I casually walked into Musica yesterday to fetch some keys from a friend.  I was so excited to see that Damien Rice has an album out. My word, it has been a very long time since his last album. Eight years, to be exact! Where were you eight years ago?

damienrice (Medium)

Eight years ago, in May 2007, I was on a plane, flying to the UK for the first time:
It was under heavy circumstances…

My dad had a stroke. And I was given compassionate leave to go and see him and spend time with him.
I was excited to be travelling abroad for the first time. But my heart weighed heavy. Would my dad be okay?
A girl had broken my heart too (just before the trip). So I was emotional wreck as I took to the skies.

But on board that really nice Emirates flight, I discovered the soulful voice and music of Damien Rice.

They in-flight entertainment was amazing. From series, to films, to little computer games, to loads of music. The cover of 9, grabbed my attention:

220px-Ninealbumcover

I pressed played and listened to the first song called: 9 Crimes

(The video is pretty odd!)

Wow, wow, wow!  This haunting and eerie ballad, crawled into my skin and soul.  Fell in love with this sound. And this artist…

“Hello, Damien Rice”

And that’s how I discovered him. Back to the future, the present… I saw the new album and thought heck, I need to buy this. So I bought his latest album on iTunes. Visited his site and this is the first song, I listened to:

“So come let me love you
Come let me love you
And then… colour me in”

Nostalgia greeted me in a store and I listened and did something about it:

artworks-000091875996-fs9la5-t500x500 (Medium)

Do go and check out the latest album…

Author:

I am an aspiring and up and coming writer. Dubbed the wondering wanderer. Do come check out my stories.

Leave a Reply

