Posted in My Writings

The 12 days of Christmas – Introduction (A short story by Darrel Hofland)

The 12 days of Christmas – Introduction
I sit here with an itch in me, to tell a story:

‘The twelve days of Christmas is the festive Christian season starting on Christmas Day (25th December) ending either on the 5th or 6th January, depending on which tradition you follow.
Some traditions insist that only some gifts can be given on the various nights during those twelve days.

76d5b0e4f378c56d47bb041cc1579369

In 1780, a song was published covering all the gifts that can be given on each night of those 12 days. I sense the tongue in cheek nature of that song.
From a Partridge in a Pear tree, to two turtle doves, to French hens, to Geese-a-laying to drummer’s drumming. Just to name a few. Quite frankly, some of those gifts on those list are just so bizarre!’

But this Christmas, this year: 2014; I want to tell you about those 12 days from the perspective of four people’s lives at four different times in our history.
In a small way, I want to bring back the magic of Christmas. So, please feel free to join me on this journey:

CHP 1 comes out tomorrow!

Author:

I am an aspiring and up and coming writer. Dubbed the wondering wanderer. Do come check out my stories.

Leave a Reply

