Posted in My Writings

Poem 9 – Unselfishness

Unselfishness
18 March 2014

This row of trees that towers over us all
Was probably planted at least fifty years ago
I notice the leaves dance and jump as the cars swoosh by
Who decided on planting this avenue?

How unselfish of them
They may be resting in their graves now
As we drive by
Under this canopy of leaves and slicing sun rays

It’s not often that a generation does something kind
For its children of the next…
So I smile as I see these tall aged trees
Above me, as I cycle through…

Thank you for being unselfish
Thank you for planting two miles of beauty and shade
I will do you a favour
And always appreciate it

Poem 9

Author:

I am an aspiring and up and coming writer. Dubbed the wondering wanderer. Do come check out my stories.

3 thoughts on “Poem 9 – Unselfishness

Leave a Reply

