Posted in Inspirational, Music, My Writings

Day 23 – Music

I love music.  I really do.  I’d like to say of myself that I think in lyrics.  I have a library of lyrics in my mind.

Emery, Underoath, The Almost, Relient K, Switchfoot, Twin Forks, Dave Matthews Band, Thousand Foot Krutch.

I often tell people, the two big languages that God speaks to me in; are “being in creation,” gosh, the world is so full of evidence of the Creator.

The other language is that of lyrics.  I can be driving in my car, and a lyric jumps out at me grabbing me by the throat and heart.

Kings of Leon, John Mayer, Lorde, Dear Reader, Gravity Wins Again, MxPx, Pearl Jam, REM.

I often have my iTunes playing or a CD at home jamming.  And often variate the bands on my usb stick in my car.

(By the way, that’s a great invention!)

The Used, Taking Back Sunday, Angels and Airwaves, Blink 182, Alter Bridge, Prime Circle.

I have this controversial theory about music and it’s influences.

I am not a fan of the “pop culture” following of music.  People only liking a song because everyone else does.  Or because it has radio play.  How fickle!

The worst answer to give me; when I ask you what music you like is to say: “I listen to everything. I don’t have a favourite.”

Rubbish!  That means you don’t have a leg to stand on… in the music world.  Harsh, I know.  But have some conviction about music.  Know why you like the song you like?  And don’t just know the SINGLE… that’s a poor sighted view of music.

Speaking of rubbish…

Garbage, Matt Redman, Dead Poetic, Anberlin, The Classic Crime, Eminem, Matthew Mole.

About my theory. I battle with hip-hop.  I mean I dig Eminem.  He sings about real issues…

But here is my controversial theory:

when I was growing up, a lot of people would refer to ROCK music as the devil’s music.  That’s crap!

In fact, I’d tell you the devil is having a field day with pop music and hip-hop.

So in my country, a lot of folk who have AIDS (except those who’ve been raped or born with it) get it from their own stupid actions.

And you know what is their influence.  Their bullshit pop music that they listen to:

Think about the lyrics: “I want to undress you” “dancing right up against you on the dance-floor” “where you going girl lookin’ like that, come over here” ah man… the list is endless… full of sexual innuendo, sleeping with one another, and: a girl is just a “piece of meat” that industry is pumped with that nonsense.

And then these people are like “why do, I have AIDS?” stop sleeping around!  Stop listening to the crap that you do!

Bastille, Imagine Dragons, Ard Matthews, John Ellis, Johnny Clegg, Vusi Mahlasela, Coldplay, Rise Against, Chevelle.

There are good movies that you should watch about music.

Music & Lyrics, Almost Famous and my favourite is August Rush.

There have been bands that have inspired me along the way, convicted me as I have grown up.

Blindside, As Cities Burn, Counting Crows, The Cure, Violent Femmes.

I once interviewed the lead singer of the band, Blindside from Sweden.  I was working as a DJ on Link FM down in the Eastern Cape. (South Africa.)  Ah, I really loved that job.

Enter Shikari,  Foo Fighters, POD, Pillar, Skillet, Jars of Clay, Aaron Gillispie, Thrice , Dustin Kensrue.

Here are just some lyrics that have jumped out at me:

“But I know as I hammered those nails into your beautiful hands
Your eyes still try to search for mine, but I look away
Now your eyes are the only thing that can save me” Blindside

“I am a nomad – a wanderer; I have nowhere to lay my head down.
There’s no point in putting roots too deep when I’m moving on.
I’m not settling for this unsettling town.
My heart is filled with songs of forever –
Of a city that endures, where all is made new.” Thrice

“Then I fly back to my nest, I fly back with my nuclear but everything is different
So I wait, my yearn for home is broadened, patriotism expanded by callings from beyond
So I pack my things nothing precious all things sacred” Alanis Morissette

Paramore, Funeral for a Friend, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Mat Kearney, Nirvana, Oasis, Live, 12 Stones, Lifehouse.

And to make this post even more fun, some of the band names, if you click on them… will lead you to a cool music video…

there are still many bands that can go on my list… but I don’t want to go on and on and on and on…

Author:

I am an aspiring and up and coming writer. Dubbed the wondering wanderer. Do come check out my stories.

Leave a Reply

