Posted in Inspirational, My Writings

Day 10 – The best advice I’ve ever received / heard

9 July 2014

They say the good things come in threes, right? Or did I just make that up?
Well for the sake of this post… I’m claiming that that statement does exist.

Life is full and life is complex thus it’s very difficult to narrow the best advice to one thing.

So I have three pieces of wisdom that for me, have changed a lot in my approach to life. Here they are in no particular order:

1) Of dragons:

GK Chesterton once said: “Fairytales don’t exist to tell children that dragons exist. Children know that already. Fairytales exist to tell children that dragons can be defeated!”

I don’t want to be too wordy with why I like each of these. I think advice stands alone without the need of explanation. But rather a discussion.

This is definitely not just a quote for children; you can see that. This is a way of looking at life. Hard to put in words. But don’t write off stories. Don’t be afraid of your dragons. They CAN be DEFEATED!!!

2) Of being alive:

“Don’t ask yourself what the world needs. Ask yourself what makes you come alive and then go do that. Because what the world needs is people who have come alive.”

Simply, I want to say, I find that too many people are stuck in a “9-5 life” just going through the motions. A lot of people just exist. Only a very few actually LIVE! I try my best to full in the latter category…

I need to keep asking this question, what makes me come alive. It can’t always be a once off answer. I believe the answer changes, depending on the chapter of your life. Would you agree?

3) Of your heart:

Proverbs 4: 23 declares: “Above all else, guard your heart, for it is the wellspring of life.”

Scripture is packed with lots of great truth and wisdom. This is my favourite. People far too often live from their heads and not from their hearts.

I observe the junk that people fill their hearts with. I have messed up too. And I fight to take my heart back often. We NEED to GUARD our hearts. How could anyone disagree with this truth?

Thank you for visiting my blog 🙂

Author:

I am an aspiring and up and coming writer. Dubbed the wondering wanderer. Do come check out my stories.

2 thoughts on “Day 10 – The best advice I’ve ever received / heard

Leave a Reply

