Posted in Inspirational, My Writings

Day 7 – Inspired by Art

I wanted to do something closer to home.

1) Literally, here in South Africa. Cape Town to be precise.
2) The artist is unknown to myself.
3) I took the picture. With my own camera.

IMG_2124 (Medium)

I like this for art for many reasons.

It’s not commercial. It has a message. People can interpret it their own way.
I like the angle that I took this picture.

The contradiction of the freedom the sky depicts that can be seen through the barbed wire, a symbol of captivity.

Then the message on the wall ties them two together. Law (sounds restrictive) and “all people will be equal” sounds like a position of freedom. Where no one is judged by the colour of their skin, or their past.

The lady herself blindfolded is intriguing. Having no sight? Seems a posture of being “trapped”

Or perhaps… having the blindfold… allows her to not be judgmental on the basis of what she “would see”

There is just so much that one could take from this street art.
How do you decipher this message?

Author:

I am an aspiring and up and coming writer. Dubbed the wondering wanderer. Do come check out my stories.

Leave a Reply

