Posted in Inspirational, People, South Africa

PEOPLE ALONG THE WAY

18 June 2014

This past Saturday, the hour before the wedding, I sat in my room at the fancy lodge; (thanks to my friends Adrian and Kim for paying that for me) and looked out at this sight. The cloud blanketing a nearby mountain.

IMG_2140 (Medium)

The weather was gloomy and I felt thoughtful.

You see;
I don’t own much. Have no savings.
I battle every month financially.
Down to R55 left till pay day, some food in my cupboards, less than a quarter of a tank.
(I have my days when I’m pretty scared of where my life is going)…

But then, I have days like me there sitting at Zorgvliet Wine Estate outside Stellenbosch:
The advantage of working in many churches and living in different towns is the people I have met.
The honour to be asked to conduct a wedding ceremony.
The generosity I have experienced from the friends I have that have more than me.
I was flown down and given accommodation by friends.
(Blessed, to use that Christian word.)
On Friday, my friend, Gareth and I stood in a Traffic Department line for about an hour.
We just caught up with each other’s lives.

I don’t high profile entertainment. I just want the company of the people I care for and love around me.
We then just chilled at his place, having lunch, sipping coffee and sharing more stories of our lives.

The weekend continued with dinner and watching the world cup with friends. I did some geocaching with other friends. Lay on a couch watching films.
Simple activities with great friends.

I just write this with such a deep sense of appreciation for the people I have met along the way.

For that I am eternally grateful.
The hospitality and kindness of friends.

Thank you God!

Author:

I am an aspiring and up and coming writer. Dubbed the wondering wanderer. Do come check out my stories.

Leave a Reply

