Posted in Inspirational, Music

Dear Anberlin

Anberlin-2012

Dear Anberlin,

You recently shared this new with us:

I am sad to hear about your final album.
However at the same time I am very THANKFUL for the journey we have had together.
Yes, you may not realise it; but as your band has grown; many fans have grown alongside you.
We’re all older now, we’re all a little wiser and yet still learning new things.

I am thankful for the effort that you as a band have put into every album you offered to us (your fans).

On each album there have been songs that have moved this wondering and wandering soul.

Your genuine, heartfelt lyrics have often opened up inspiration and truth within me.
Here are some lyrics that have grabbed my attention thoroughly:

“Fall asleep, don’t fall asleep Don’t fall asleep
(They lied when they said that the good die young” Godspeed

“Airports to Amsterdam
There’s nothing that we can do now
I’m convinced, oh, that you’re right
You’re right where you belong,
Beside me, to remind me
Did you ever think this far behind me
You would see the world for what it was
And who we really were
Oh they love us American boys
Anywhere, say anywhere
As long as I’m with you
Anything, ask anything
We’ll watch the world go by” Uncanny

“I wanna be your last, first kiss
That you’ll ever have
I wanna be your last, first kiss
Amazing how life turns out the way that it does
We end up hurting the worst, the only ones we really love” Inevitable

“Silent alarms are ringing
Sounds of revolt draw near
A new united front
That you will come to fear
We will hold together
To become the change
Voice for the voiceless
With every common man engaged” The Resistance

“Live, I wanna live inspired
Die, I wanna die for something higher than myself
Live and die for anyone else
The more I live I see this life’s not about me” Burn Out Brighter (Northern Lights)

“No motives just cover
Justify the things that come to mind
All pictures no color
All the wrong that you think you’ve made right
Dead inside, yours is mine, dead inside
Are you alive? Somebody help me, are you alive?” Little Tyrants

“Are you depraved, or are you deceived?
Excuses aside, stop saying please, please.
Are you depraved, or are you deceived?
Excuses aside, stop saying please, please.
You’re not a slave, so get off your knees.
You’re not a slave, so get off your knees.” Depraved

(wow, wow, wow… Depraved is a deep song.)

I also decided to put together; a top 10 of Anberlin songs; that I have constantly liked along the way. In no particular order:

1) Breaking
2) Godspeed
3) Uncanny
4) The Resistance
5) Cadence
6) The Haunting
7) Depraved
8) Burn Out Brighter (Northern Lights)
9) Little Tyrants
10) Never take friendship personal

As this chapter ends; and new ones begin; may you continue to live inspired!

Godspeed,
Darrel

PS. If you don’t know any of their songs; here are three videos to check out:

1) Feel Good Drag

2) Impossible

3) Godspeed

Author:

I am an aspiring and up and coming writer. Dubbed the wondering wanderer. Do come check out my stories.

Leave a Reply

