Posted in Music

Sometimes it just takes a song…

My current job is: youth ministry.
I wholeheartedly believe we are all spiritual beings.
And sometimes you have to go through “this” to get to that.
Because sometimes, it takes just a song…

‘This’ being:
Youth gathered at our church premises on Friday Night:
We made hotdogs for them.
Played a little icebreaker game. (That was rather funny!) Youth carrying jelly tots and astros using straws… (can you imagine that?)
Then we made milkshakes for the teens.
That followed with a round of 30 seconds. (A game where you have to try explain certain things on the card before you for your team)

Then I asked the youth to go into the sanctuary… the church to end off the Friday night proceedings.

I played this song:

After the song played…
You could HEAR the silence in that church.
Something deeper was going on…
It was all worth it!!!

My two passions are to help youth:
1) Realize they are spiritual beings
2) Listen to the deeper things in their heart.

Here are some lyrics from that beautiful song:

“You could read a million pages, know the words and all the phrases.
You could try to turn a lie into the truth.
You can live to be a hundred, memorizin’ every number.
You could even put a man on the moon.
And the science of the heart is sometimes lost on me.
But I’m following this feeling!

[Chorus:]
I don’t know why, it’s so hard to swallow our pride!
And I don’t know how many wrongs make a right.
I don’t know the reason.
Sometimes it just feels so good to cry!
And I don’t know which way the wind will blow.
But you’re here with me.
And that’s all I need to know!”

(All I need to know – Thousand Foot Krutch)

Because just like a little spark that goes a long way:

3689364622_912774899e_m

Maybe a little song goes a long way too…

Why don’t you listen to the song and tell me what you think?

Author:

I am an aspiring and up and coming writer. Dubbed the wondering wanderer. Do come check out my stories.

7 thoughts on “Sometimes it just takes a song…

  1. This song always speaks right to me. The first verse is always what gets me. This is such an awesome song to play at a youth group!

Leave a Reply

