Posted in South Africa

On the way to work (ground level)…TIA

I really enjoy riding my bicycle to work
That fresh air brushing against my cheeks
I cycle passed men and women on their way to work
Oh how we like to class in South Africa?
They are ONLY a gardener
“Oh she is our maid”
Yet I smile at our exchange as I cycle on
Maybe not rich in wealth
But rich in spirit indeed
The gentleman wearing the Kaizer Chief’s shirt;
The other says to me “Sharp, sharp!”
The warmth that radiates from their greetings and smiles
And those ladies (more than a domestic worker) – someone’s mother, wife, best friend…
The joy and laughter that flows from their being
TIA
This is Africa…

Author:

I am an aspiring and up and coming writer. Dubbed the wondering wanderer. Do come check out my stories.

Leave a Reply

