Posted in Inspirational

My New Mug / My Heritage

Before the festivities of the day begin.
Before the fires are lit.
Before families and communities getting together.
Before the aroma of meat on the braai touches the sky…

I sip on some coffee welcoming the day.
Thinking briefly about heritage.
Where do I come from?
I am a South African.
In our history is struggle.
But there is also FREEDOM.
There is hope. Onto that HOPE I cling!

My new mug has the words of Psalm 46:10 “Be still and know that I am the Lord.” inscribed on it.

I like that.
In quietness is my strength.
The very nature of drinking good coffee is about slowing down. Being still. About savouring the taste.

So I start this day slowly. Remembering a far deeper heritage.
I am created by a mysterious God who in time reveals Himself to us.
I am grateful for that.

Blindside put it this way in one of their songs “Fell in love with the game, forgot from where I came”

Let us not forget from where we come!

Happy Heritage Day!

Author:

I am an aspiring and up and coming writer. Dubbed the wondering wanderer. Do come check out my stories.

Leave a Reply

