Posted in South Africa, Travels

The coolest Cape Town adventure

I really cannot go to a place and not capture the experience with words and share with possible and willing hearers / readers.

I once termed myself with this label “a wondering wanderer.”

I like that. It captures my wanderlust for travelling and new experiences and appreciating the beauty all around me.

Recently I was blessed to be sent by church to a youth pastor’s retreat down in Simon’s Town (Cape Town.) Combined with a few days of leave I had the most amazing time.

I made some new friends. I met up with friends that I hadn’t seen in about 3 or 4 years. And I got to enjoy my newly found hobby: geocaching whilst going to unusual places and seeing the most spectacular sites:

The adventure starts on Monday with Bob and I enjoying a breakfast special at Arnold’s a quaint restaurant that looks upon Table Mountain.

1

Then we headed for a drive up to Signal Hill which offers spectacular views of the city.

2

Later that day, looking like a backpacker (my intention), I boarded a train at Rosebank and headed off to the retreat: Simon’s Town.)

3

That evening some old friends reunited and some new ones made headed to the local and rather dingy pub along the main street of Simon’s Town:

4 4b

The next day, we decided to do some geocaching in the area which led us to some interesting attractions:

5 5b 6 7 8

From examining the old and unused cable car structure to peering out at the harbour and climbing the 340 steps to Just Nuisance’s grave; we most certainly deserved a good way to end the day. So we spoiled ourselves with refreshing milkshakes at a little place called Harbour View. Not quite the conventional “sun downers” approach, however I enjoyed that moment.

9 9b

Being patriotic to my country and our football team, Bafana Bafana, that Tuesday night we visited another pub in the area; this one was far better than the first night’s attempt. The place was called: Bertha. (Admittedly, not such a trendy name).

Sipping on the locally brewed ale: Mitchell’s. A mellow evening indeed.

10 berthas 10b

Wednesday we headed into town to Central Methodist Church (such youth pastors… haha)

11

And also the V & A Waterfront. Being at the waterfront I felt overwhelmed by a surge of feelings upon me. There was “so much” to take in. In a good way! The stunning backdrop of the blue sky, the festivity one could feel in the area, the smart looking restaurants and bars scattered in the harbour. I felt that awesome feeling I have had in the past when experiencing a city for the first time. (I was born to explore and see new sights,)

13 14 15

This pic of this renovated building grabbed my attention for some reason:

12

What an epic day indeed!

After the retreat, I met up with some friends from when I lived in East London in a placed called Roxy’s:

16a 16b 17 18

Note the quirky stairway, the retro wall prints and even a mannequin to hold your bog roll for you while you do your business.

More things went down on my trip to Cape Town; but for the sake of brevity, I end here. Thanks for reading. Hope this inspires you live with appreciation and gratitude.

the end

Live well, live inspired.

Author:

I am an aspiring and up and coming writer. Dubbed the wondering wanderer. Do come check out my stories.

One thought on “The coolest Cape Town adventure

Leave a Reply

