Posted in Inspirational, Travels

Backpacked Life

I haven’t written in ages. I feel like I have words inside of me longing to escape.

Coming soon: a blog about my entire Cape Town trip: sights and sounds

I may also re-work this Backpacked Life blog.

When packing my backpack to head on back to Durban I had these thoughts: the things I pack, the things I live.

If some of my values and life focuses are packed in bag, what would they be?

1) Scrabble tiles – these represent words. We carry words. Words can build or break others. I am reminded of my love for words. What words do we give to others? Are they packed with love and life giving affirmation?
Sometimes they need to convict.
Sometimes they need to inspire.

2) My iPod and Shock speakers – Music is very important to me.
Music is a language that unites many.
I have had the best soundtrack thus far in my life.
I love how a song can remind me of a prior scene in my life.

3) My bible – reminds me of my faith.
Reminds me of my love for God.
Yes, like many, I have questions.
But my foundation is on His grace.
I am part of a far bigger motion.

4) My Camera – simply the saying goes “a picture paints a thousand words” I like that. When I look through the photographs of my trip I smile and the reuniting of friends, new memories made.

5) Warm Clothes – am thankful for provision. Am reminded to “cover” myself.
Life can be tough at times. Be thankful for the “shelter” and the “cover” you have. Referring to that both metaphorically and literally.

6) Notebook & Pen / or even my Laptop
– reminds me to take stock of my life. To jot down what I observe around me.

7) Shoes – they have walked and covered much ground. Reminds me to be grateful. I have seen a lot. I have experienced a lot.

8) My ID book – reminds me to keep my identity. I am thankful for who I am. Who I am becoming.

9) A book to read – we carry our own stories. But we need to always tap into other story. I believe that’s important. Stories unlock our creativity.

10) Chewing Gum – no one likes bad breath. Need I say more?! Haha!

Godspeed. Thanks for visiting my blog today. No need to burn after reading… (See what I did there? πŸ˜‰

Author:

I am an aspiring and up and coming writer. Dubbed the wondering wanderer. Do come check out my stories.

Leave a Reply

