Posted in Inspirational

67

e90cf09dad9c409081d51f1355c014a2 madibibokkeSo, yes, I too will jump on the band wagon.  But i will jump on in a creative way.

First up: Happy Birthday Madiba.

I like the concept of MANDELA DAYAnd I am certain that others have contested that:

“By devoting 67 minutes of their time – one minute for every year of Mr. Mandela’s public service – people can make a small gesture of solidarity with humanity and a step towards a global movement for good.”

… should not be set just for one day.  It should be a daily thing.  But for crying out loud.  Will you just let us celebrate?  When you have seen/experienced the darkness we have come, we do have reason to celebrate.  To pause, to thank, to praise.  And to give a little love.

So after that LONG intro here is my LITTLE creative flare to the day:

I decided to work with 67 words that Madiba spoke (four different quotes)… and put them together:

“The greatest glory in living lies not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall. For to be free is not merely to cast off one’s chains, but to live in a way that respects and enhances the freedom of others Education is the most powerful weapon which you can use to change the world. Let there be work, bread, water and salt for all.”

This captures: not giving up, what freedom is, the importance of education and the provision for all people.

Are we part of that vision?

Out of all the stuff on social media (twitter / facebook) these are the best things for this day that I found:

1) Practical ways of helping / caring that don’t only extend to this day:

6.7 things to do

2) The Birthday wish for Nelson Mandela that warmed my heart a lot; well put:

bday wish

Author:

I am an aspiring and up and coming writer. Dubbed the wondering wanderer. Do come check out my stories.

2 thoughts on “67

  1. I think I first heard about Mandela Day a few summers ago…its one of those things I was interested in but never developed a plan. The interesting thing is that I do public service all year. I just need to align my work with Mandela Day! …Happy Birthday Nelson Mandela!

Leave a Reply

