Posted in Uncategorized

Madiba

I know I am probably one of a thousand with something to say.
And I am okay with that.

Because truth is, this man has inspired / his wisdom and discernment have influenced a more than a thousand people’s lives…

So I am certain, a lot in my country, have something to say, let alone the world…

I am also aware, when it comes to the History of my country, I am rather ignorant.
I have not read The Long Walk to Freedom.
(Well I once read a released comic book version of that – so I got the gist of Mandela’s life.)

As a white south african I don’t know much of what happened. I am guessing many black south africans don’t know either.

What I know is that there was strife, struggle and belittling of humans…

And now people have been set free.
Freedom and democracy is what Nelson Mandela fought for.

But this BLOG is not a political one at all:

On Wednesday driving past Howick we visited this capture site, where Nelson Mandela was captured.

Looking through the museum and reading up about Madiba was nostalgic.

For obvious reasons. With his approaching death, I think out some thoughts:

1) I wonder why he is ‘holding on’ for so long…
2) I wonder what it was liked to be in prison for 30 years and in that time having dealt with your anger and respond in forgiveness. Remarkable!
3) My simple prayer for my country: is that a leader / set of leaders is raised up in the spirit of this great man and continues to lead our country forward…

Not backwards or in corruption.

As long as there is life, there is hope…

Author:

I am an aspiring and up and coming writer. Dubbed the wondering wanderer. Do come check out my stories.

Leave a Reply

