Posted in Inspirational

If my bike had emotions…

…It would be feeling super alive right now.
Yesterday I was down on the coast in the Oribi Gorge at a place called Lake Eland.
Went down to spend time with my brother for his birthday.
We had the amazing opportunity to go mountain biking.
About 5 of us head off on a 24km ride.
It took over 2 hours, because we stopped every now and then. We rode against the wind, and simply we soaked in our surrounding scenery.
If my bike had emotions it would have been elated yesterday.
(I usually use my bike for riding to work on tame tarred roads.)
Yesterday, it had to endure soft sand, mud, technical rocky bits, fast speeded down-hills.
I got hear my chain rattling. The gears working hard, the hard biking shaking from every shock and bump it had to take on.
Bliss!
I loved it.
One point we just stopped and observed the valley around us.
Incredible!
Then on our path we had to pause. Out of obligation and our of own will to witness an incredible array of local wildlife: Red Hartebeest, Zebra, Wilderbeest and Eland.
All about 100m in front of us.
Felt like we were on a game drive on our bikes.

Mountain bikes are made for off-road trails, so my bike was in its element yesterday 🙂

After that long ride (for me) my legs felt well worked.
Yet I felt so alive. Grateful!

Author:

I am an aspiring and up and coming writer. Dubbed the wondering wanderer. Do come check out my stories.

Leave a Reply

