Posted in Inspirational

John 8 (A modern take)

I swear these walls are talking
Their stares are piercing
My own perceived thoughts are louder than they should be
This small town is whispering

The stones beneath my feet press in uncomfortably
Yet the stones in their hands will hurt more
Sticks and stones will hurt my bones
And their words will surely do damage too

We tread around
Keeping up appearances
Needing a hand
Needing the Saviour
(again and again)

They’re looking out from their windows above
“Daughter, never turn out like THAT woman”
Men thinking, “Filthy woman, you’ve been busted.”
(Whilst they hide their own thoughts of unfaithfulness)

Is this a safe place
I hope so
They called this a hospital
(Where He heals all the souls)
Will you be patient?

They’ve debated what You wrote on the ground
That didn’t matter to me
It’s what You whispered in my ear
“These sins will never define who you are to Me”

You are more!

Author:

I am an aspiring and up and coming writer. Dubbed the wondering wanderer. Do come check out my stories.

3 thoughts on “John 8 (A modern take)

Leave a Reply

