Posted in Inspirational

A Christian Apology…

Grace and Sarah,

I write this mainly for both of you… yet also to others who may have similar questions and thoughts as you two have:

Firstly, this is not an argument.  This is a discussion.  And this is my explanation and conversation about my awesome God, whom I love dearly.

I don’t like it when people call Christianity a “religion.”  Because it is not

In studying and looking at other religions… one sees that all of them have a whole bunch of rules and ideas and procedures of how man (humankind) can get to their god.

Christianity is the story of how God gets to us.
In the Old Testament, we see God hears the cries of His people and comes and rescues them.
In the New Testament, we see God sends His son Jesus to save us from the consequences of sin: death

There is this cool verse in Acts 17: 28 that I like: “In Him we live and move and have our being.”  Our identity is in God.  Our life’s movements should be in Him.

Christianity is not about rules that we need to follow.
Those rules are who we are.
It’s not about: “do this” or “do that.”

Think about it this way in a South African context.  When the Springboks run onto the field to play a game of rugby they don’t think: “Ah crap, I am running onto this field where I am not allowed to be offsides, forward pass or high tackle.”

No, No…  They think: “Yes, I get to play a game I love and I get to represent my country.”
Same with Christianity, we say: “Yes, I get to live this life and represent my Creator who breathed life into me in the first place.”

I never think: “Oh shucks; can or can’t I steal or murder or hurt others.”
I am not thinking about those rules.  AS a follower of Jesus, I hope that naturally I don’t do all those stupid things!

Does that make sense?
Sarah, your point 4 in your blog (about not going to convert everyone) I agree and disagree with.
If Jesus is good news… would you not share good news with everyone?
No you don’t BIBLE BASH, I agree with you there.  You are supposed to just live life well and God honouring and people would DEFINITELY notice that.

That would see you “shining for Him” (to use Christian lingo right there…haha)
I think what is sad about many Christians and those who so easily wear the “Of course I am a Christian” label is the way they live… is not freeing.

They live out a religion… and not a relationship with an ever present God.
There is no joy in the way they follow Jesus
They’re so rigid!
There is no grace in their relationship with God,

Only procedures, arguments (‘I am more right than you are’ sort of nonsense.)
Does this make sense?  Look at some of the Christians around you?  What a boring representation of Jesus, right?

(Sarah) Now Divorce is a tricky one.   My parents are divorced for 25 years now.  I am thankful that their divorce was NOT messy.
And I believe in all my heart that God loves both my dad and mom very much.  He has reached them both in amazing ways separately.

I think what is crucial and what NEEDS to be taught from a young age.
MARRIAGE is beautiful and is FOREVER.

Couples quit too easily
Couples get married too easily and may even marry the wrong person.
Couples leave out God in their relationships.  That screws up a lot!

I don’t particularly believe in evolution although I think the world is evolving in some ways.
I believe God creates!
He is a creator God.

Yet even in if we came about via EVOLUTION.
Who was the ONE to set evolution on motion?  Who is the force behind it? GOD is!!!!

Grace, I do appreciate your honesty in your blog and am very glad that you were offended that someone would call Jesus some “zombie”

Simply that is stupid!
You may not feel you are in the “place” to think or accept God, but with that topic… that would be cool to talk in you in person.

Jesus says in John 10: 10, that he has come to give life and life in the full.  What does that look like?  Why would you not want an ABUNDANT life now?  You’re settling for less… and that is a shame…

About your question in your blog… “Where did the universe come from?” the answer is God.
People say where did God come from; well listen (READ) carefully this statement; it’s a clever play on words and reality actually:

God does not exist!
Instead God is!
What I mean is… for something to “exist”… means it has a beginning and an end.
So God doesn’t have a beginning and an end.
He has always been.
He is

I like that.

I want to leave you with a prayer from scripture.  Ephesians 3:

A Prayer for the Ephesians (Durbanites – I added this)

 14 For this reason I kneel before the Father, 15 from whom every family[a] in heaven and on earth derives its name. 16 I pray that out of his glorious riches he may strengthen you with power through his Spirit in your inner being, 17 so that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith. And I pray that you, being rooted and established in love, 18 may have power, together with all the Lord’s holy people, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ, 19 and to know this love that surpasses knowledge—that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God.

 

 20 Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, 21 to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen.

I love the invitation in verse 19 and verse 20.
There is such a deep love in Jesus.  are you willing to step into it?
And God can do so much more than you can “imagine or ask”
Our minds are finite, they are small.

There is this huge God with massive love for you.
He is doing something incredible in this world.
Do you want to be part of that?

Author:

I am an aspiring and up and coming writer. Dubbed the wondering wanderer. Do come check out my stories.

2 thoughts on “A Christian Apology…

Leave a Reply

