Posted in Inspirational

HAPPY EASTER! ….my time in ‘Exile’

HAPPY EASTER!

1 It is for freedom that Christ has set us free. Stand firm, then, and do not let yourselves be burdened again by a yoke of slavery. (Galatians 5: 1)

So be free!  be thankful, the cross has set us free.  Jesus defeated death. Oh how differently life would look if we as His followers lived a resurrected faith!

(PS.  all pictures in this blog are taken by my bro; he really is talented.)

The title of the blog inspired by a Third Eye Blind song:
“Oh we have grown
Maybe I’ve overstayed awhile
In my time in exile and
Oh time has flown
And the only thing I’ve learned
I want a life now of my own”

God has taught me things over this lenten journey.
It has been rather a tough time.
These 4 months of settling back in SA, have been interesting and even difficult at times…

so God and I have wrestled:
(You see, I fell in “love with the game”)

“Fell in love with the game
But I forgot your name
Go ahead please fight me
Cause I’m not scared
Though you stayed the same
I forgot from where I came
Go ahead please fight me

And we both stand tall on the table
You take me by the hand and I grab you by the throat
And we came crashing down through the window
On the dirt ground below
And we wrestle in the mud and the blood and the beer
Break my jaw I don’t care
Just stay with me, stay

Lock my arms I don’t want to move
Hold me still teach me how to weep
If it’s ok with you I think I’ll stay here
For a little while”

(Blindside – Fell in love with the Game)

I won’t bear my entire soul on this blog.
Yet this lenten journey has been good… it seems right at the eleventh hour God has taught me what He wanted to.
Yes I am still a stubborn student in His class – the school of life
Yes I still have my prodigal ways at times
Yes His mercy is drawing me one step closer
Yes His love is fierce. Breaking into my defenses

Yes I did cheat and not refrain from facebook entirely for 40 days.
Yet I did not blog or write my Sacred Spaces.

I guess the words “I wanted to throw out” I just brought to God.
on the lenten journey
in the desert
(the metaphorical desert relating to Jesus’ actual experience)

if i could sum up what God has said to be in his words (dare I speak on His behalf), this is what I felt God say to me:

“Darrel, I want to be your First love
I want you to love Me, the Blesser, not just the blessings I have given you.
I want you to be content with what you have now
I want you to be grateful for what you have seen and experienced already.
I want you to focus on Me more.
I have a calling for you
I have placed a passionate fire in you.
Will you let Me flame it abalzing again?
Seek me first
Stop living selfishly.
Focus focus focus.
Stop fighting me
Stop being pessimistic.
Live each day to the max.”

Something like that.
And thats what I needed to hear.

Some random photos of good memories over last few weeks (well, really just from my good friend’s 30th Birthday wkd):

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I want to end off with a prayer our minister/rector/priest (whatever the terminology is) read to us at the start of Lent. Its really awesome:

Disturb us, Lord, when
We are too well pleased with ourselves,
When our dreams have come true
Because we have dreamed too little,
When we arrived safely
Because we sailed too close to the shore.

Disturb us, Lord, when
With the abundance of things we possess
We have lost our thirst
For the waters of life;
Having fallen in love with life,
We have ceased to dream of eternity
And in our efforts to build a new earth,
We have allowed our vision
Of the new Heaven to dim.

Disturb us, Lord, to dare more boldly,
To venture on wider seas
Where storms will show your mastery;
Where losing sight of land,
We shall find the stars.

We ask You to push back
The horizons of our hopes;
And to push into the future
In strength, courage, hope, and love.

(Attributed to Sir Francis Drake – 1577)

I hope you will be distrubed.  A holy sort of disturbance by our good God.

PS.  Its good to be blogging again!

Author:

I am an aspiring and up and coming writer. Dubbed the wondering wanderer. Do come check out my stories.

Leave a Reply

