Posted in Inspirational

I’m not religious HOWEVER i do love Jesus.

What do people see when they see me?
What do you see?

I read my friend’s blog: the other side of the coin

I agreed with what she wrote.
We did have a chat the other day and she just didn’t get “the whole lent” thing? She suggested that “she hates religious practices.”

I confess, I got defensive.
If someone takes part in LENT, does that make them religious?
I really hope not!

I am not a fan of religion and tradition. (Well tradition, when it stifles people)

My explanation of LENT is that its a good “practice” to help one focus in their faith journey.

And we all can do with some focus, right?
So when we “give up something” for LENT, the idea is that when the craving or desire for that “thing” (that we have given up for the 40 days of LENT) comes up, we ACTIVELY turn out focus to Jesus. and use those moments to worship and express our love to Him.

Now that’s something I can do. And want to try and do as much.

There has been a few influential books in my life, but this one by Brother Lawrence: The Practice of the Presence of God I keep coming back to.

It uses the word “Practice”
And like all athletes, sportsmen (women), academics… everyone needs to PRACTICE.

And LENT is one of those good practices.
NO, we don’t NEED to do it!

YET, would it help? For many, yes it does!

So as an academic writes practice papers, as footballers practice each day.

(By the way if you are an English Teacher, reading this now, I do always get confused with: practice or practise. never know when to use each one?)

I love Jesus.
And there are little quircky things I may do to keep my eyes on Him.
And how I often look elsewhere.

I would be the first to put my hand up, to say I am a sinner. I mess up. My sins trip me up often.
HOWEVER,
I would also be the first to put my hand up, to say that I am a sinner saved by grace.

I wanted to throw this picture into this blog.
A guy from my Youth took it during his trip to Botswana:

Seriously, when I see beauty like this it SCREAMS the existence of God. A beautiful designer, a beautiful creator… who breathed me out of the dirt of the earth.

I am unworthy… but as Louie Giglio once said it:

I am because I know “I AM”

I have hurt many people
I have run from Him often
I have tripped up
BUT I will stumble forward
I will learn and relearn grace constantly.

BECAUSE, I need Him.
I want Him. and I love Him.

Why I am preaching? (And if you are still reading)

These are two songs that have constantly gripped this heart of mine:



“As I recall with my stomach turning
I was hiding away from myself, away from you
Like nothing, though something was terribly wrong
And I admit that I was only waiting for the right time
Night time, the right moment for you to look away
Though you never did, I pretended for a while
So I could walk where I don’t belong” (Blindside – Pitiful)

Jesus, He never lets go.

And this song is more recent and its about think that “we are good.”  Like those religious folks… those who live by religion… not grace and beauty and love.



THRICE – AT THE LAST

(I found it hard to select only a snippet of lyrics from this song)

“It’s a shame that some must go without,
But I was no fool to think it might be my problem.
Needy hands were reaching out;
I kept my spare change and my pride in a tight fist.

And now at the last, everything is changed in this pale light
That death has cast on all I’ve done – on all I’ve done.

I’m a good man on the whole;
Who could blame me for looking out for number one?
I never killed, I never stole;
A small indulgence now and then, so what of it?

I’m a good man.
I’m a good man.
Am I a good man?
I thought I was,
But the rewards of this life now count for naught.
My body: soon buried and left to rot.
The time’s gone, how quickly it all has passed.
My God, now I see how I’ve squandered each and every breath.

Now at the last, everything is changed in this pale light;
That death has cast on all I’ve done.

Now at the last, everything is changed in this pale light;
And looking back I am undone – I am undone.”

Thanks for reading!

Let Jesus in, I promise, He will turn your life around for the far better.

The view of life from His eyes and heart, is incredible!

Author:

I am an aspiring and up and coming writer. Dubbed the wondering wanderer. Do come check out my stories.

3 thoughts on “I’m not religious HOWEVER i do love Jesus.

  1. The problem, as I see it, is that we have made the religion a negative thing. Religion really just means something you do repetitively ie I pray religiously. Our relationship with Christ doesn’t have to exclude religion, but we should be aware at all times that it’s God’s sacrifice alone that saves us…the religious stuff ie going to church, communion, etc helps to focus us on that relationship…

  2. MysTree thanks for your comment, I agree with what you said.

    Sadly its the stigma of religion that scares people off.

    because yes communion etc are “religious” practices.

    and they are just a “means” to an End in a sense.

    its about Jesus.

    When religious things point to Jesus, then perfect.

    Yet when religion gets in the way, thats not cool!

Leave a Reply

