Posted in Uncategorized

The first one for this year… sitting by a river at the foot of a mountain.

I like talking and I like writing.  A dangerous combination indeed.

I started this blog as a blog about travelling, adventures, reflections of life, God and things inbetween.

And again I start this year, 2012, with a blog in the same fashion and introducing a new category:

“The South African Adventure 2012”

Although I may not be jumping on a train or a plane across the English Channel or countryside to see another kiff (can slang go in this blog?) band or visit another rad country as frequent as I have during the last 3 years of my life…

I still know and believe that God made my homeland an adventurous place.  And together with Him and the friends (new and old) and family (new and old) He has blessed me with, loads more of adventures are to follow.

Just yesterday, on the radio I heard that they found a crocodile in the Umgeni River, about 3km away from where I stay.

This river runs through a busy city of Durban.  (So, um no doing washing on the side of the river…  You may end up washing the stains from your pants, when that reptile fella pays you a visit…)

—-

Anyway this is what I wanted to write:

I didn’t want to be in a massive party scene of a New Years, surrounded by many drunk people just being stupid.  Maybe it’s my age…
Two years ago, I danced to a DJ in the French Alps wearing layers, pretty cold back then. Last year (end of 2010), I was in Bicester playing XBOX and went to bed before midnight. Two very different stages in my life. Now the end of 2011 and start of 2012 was pretty cool for me.

I wanted to be in a place that would be soaked in God. Its just the space and desire I had within.
So off to Underberg we went. (Southern Drakensburg)

I found myself sitting by the river side at the foot of a mountain… noting my friend and brother sitting before on the river bank.

These little moments I had in that paradise strung together created my first SA adventure for 2012.

From floating down a river on tubes, sipping on rose’ (don’t judge the softness of it)
to tubing down the rapids (I got bruises and roasties from hitting so many rocks)
to playing speed scrabble
to playing 30 seconds
to braaing
to chatting and sipping on good wine
to noting the incredible Milky Way above us.
No city lights, so one can observe a whole lot more stars, undisturbed.

Reminds me of Incubus (Wish you were here) “The sky resembles a backlit canopy with holes punched in it.”

To playing soccer and ultimate frisbee
To chatting and laughing with my bro
To meeting new friends
To listening to good chilled music and dosing off on camp chairs.
To marvelling and the sheer mountain in front of us
To soaking in the beating sun rays.

This is my home. This is my new adventure.

“For in Him we live and move and have our being.” (Acts 17: 28)

The question is not “Where is God?” The question is: “Where isn’t God?”
He is in your family, He is in your friends. He is in your healthy body. He is in the beauty around you. He is in the moments that take your breath away. He is in the moments where your heart aches.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

In all of it, if we look clearly and listen carefully we will see Him.

Author:

I am an aspiring and up and coming writer. Dubbed the wondering wanderer. Do come check out my stories.

Leave a Reply

