Posted in Inspirational

Sometimes you gotta do that to do this.

Last night we had a movie nite / stay awake with the youth.
Now as I get older, I realise my body can’t do all nighters.
YET I press on.

Having all sorts of youth in our group called:

Its rather intriguing and draining and also joyful.
I had this great idea of having midnight worship… but as we got nearest to that time (after the current moving that was showing) most people were not feeling it, including I.
So I left it.
(Yet having all these teens in that place (our church), I did crave a moment where we all could have some chill time with God.)

The funniest movie for me was no doubt: Due Date.
Classic line: “Dad, you’ve been like a father to me” (hahahaha!!)

So from the whole church premises having:
Screaming teens full of energy to
Popcorn and chips (crisps) everywhere.
To restless teens walking up and down
Wading through the loads of swearing and vulgar language.
To bad movies (Seeing the Hangover a second time, I saw it with different eyes) GOSH! There is so much swearing in that movie.

One thing in my ministry I guess i hate “baby sitting” scenes…where we do events that seem so “silly” or a “waste of time” YET God showed me something today, early this morning.

These teens that come from all sorts of backgrounds.  Who comes with all sorts of backage and thoughts and feelings, we all had this beautiful God moment sitting in the church.  After 10 hours of noise and volume we had 5 mins of silence and reflection.

It was beautiful.  it was so worth it!

I asked the teens, both Christian and non-Christian if I could pray for them and then if we could listen to one song and then listen to the stillness inside.  They agreed 🙂

It felt so beautiful in that sanctuary this morning.  peace stepping into earth.

I prayed simply for: joy and peace in the lives of the teens and that they would come to know God.

Here is the song we listened to by Dave Crowder Band:

 

“Come and listen, come to the water’s edge, all you who know and fear the Lord.
Come and listen, come to the water’s edge all you who are thirsty, come.

Let me tell you what He has done for me.
Let me tell you what He has done for me,
He has done for you,
He has done for us.”

Will you listen?

And can I invite you to go another step further and listen to this song, may it bring you to that place within “deep calls to deep”

Author:

I am an aspiring and up and coming writer. Dubbed the wondering wanderer. Do come check out my stories.

One thought on “Sometimes you gotta do that to do this.

Leave a Reply

