Posted in Inspirational

My tongue is a pen (sometimes God lets creative juices flow…)

I wrote this story below this afternoon for a Magazine:

I finally made it to the top of the hill. And there it was; the Carpenter’s house. As I reached out to knock on the door, the large wooden door creaked open. I noted that carved on the door were the words: “I am the way, the truth and the life.”1

“It’s good to see you again.” He smiled.

“Sorry, it’s taken me so long, I… I just have been busy.” I replied sheepishly.

“I know. I have noticed. You so often live like a human doing and not a human being. However, remember surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.2 So even in your busyness I am there.”

I then looked around the room. There were hundreds upon hundreds of wooden sculptures scattered on the shelves and some on His work bench. On each carving was a name. (Names of His children I assumed.) Each sculpture was different. The Carpenter was incredibly creative and each one did not look the same, yet all of them had their own unique beauty.

To the left was a door, which I assumed went to another room that probably had a lot more sculptures.
I walked toward the table and noted that I recognized the names on the sculptures that were placed on His table. They were names of my friends and colleagues and my family.

I felt the Carpenter place His hands on my shoulders and say,

“Rejoice in me always. I will say it again: Rejoice! Let your gentleness be evident to all. I AM near.”3

With that He grabbed a pen and handed it to me and then I felt His serene breath over my body and He continued, “Go and do likewise.”4

I saw the pen glow in my hand and then I began to understand.

The pen was a symbol for my words. These sculptures that lay on the table had not been coloured yet. With this pen (my words) I would add colour to their lives.

Where to start?

Reading my thoughts the Carpenter simply pointed and my heart and smiled.

Then I felt my heart glow and burn within5. I place my hand on my heart to try and relieve the pain and as I placed my hand, the burning stopped. I pulled my hand away and saw these words that were impressed from my heart on the palm of my hand:

With the tongue we praise our Lord and Father, and with it we curse human beings, who have been made in God’s likeness. Out of the same mouth come praise and cursing. My brothers and sisters, this should not be. Can both fresh water and salt water flow from the same spring? My brothers and sisters, can a fig tree bear olives, or a grapevine bear figs? Neither can a salt spring produce fresh water.6

It was becoming clearer to me what the Carpenter was telling me. I then noticed more words scribbled on my other hand:

Let your conversation be always full of grace, seasoned with salt, so that you may know how to answer everyone.7

After reading that, I knew exactly what He was instructing me to do. I was glad I had come to the Carpenter’s house. Never does He judge me. Yet in love He convicts the actions and attitudes in my life.

I knew that the last few days I had said nasty things to my siblings. I knew too that at work I was not encouraging enough of my colleagues. I would often speak badly about them behind their backs.

If I am supposed to be a disciple of Jesus (the Carpenter), I was not leading a good example.

I looked him in the eyes and said “I am sorry for hurting You and others in my life.”

He stepped forward, smiled and hugged me. I knew I was forgiven.

It was time for me to leave. I knew that I could always come back to the Carpenter’s house. His door would never be locked. That’s grace, I thought.

As I walked out His house, I looked back and said: “I can do all things through You who gives me strength.”8

He smiled.

Footnotes:
1) John 14: 6
2) Matthew 28: 20
3) Philippians 4: 4, 5
4) Luke 10: 37
5) Jeremiah 31: 33
6) James 3: 9 – 12
7) Colossians 4: 6
8) Philippians 4: 13

Author:

I am an aspiring and up and coming writer. Dubbed the wondering wanderer. Do come check out my stories.

2 thoughts on “My tongue is a pen (sometimes God lets creative juices flow…)

Leave a Reply

