Posted in Inspirational

I sometimes do this…

When I see random numbers like these from these raffle tickets I bought:

I took the numbers 4013 – 4015 and decided to look in Psalms and Jeremiah.

(eg. Psalm 40:13 – 15)

but both those passages were about death… haha… is that a sign? haha.

BUT then I went to Isaiah 40: 13 – 15

13 Who can fathom the Spirit of the LORD,
   or instruct the LORD as his counselor?
14 Whom did the LORD consult to enlighten him,
   and who taught him the right way?
Who was it that taught him knowledge,
   or showed him the path of understanding?

 15 Surely the nations are like a drop in a bucket;
   they are regarded as dust on the scales;
   he weighs the islands as though they were fine dust.

I like that!  (it explains itself, so no need for my little addition)

or the Message Version

The Creator of All You Can See or Imagine

 12-17Who has scooped up the ocean
   in his two hands,
   or measured the sky between his thumb and little finger,
Who has put all the earth’s dirt in one of his baskets,
   weighed each mountain and hill?
Who could ever have told God what to do
   or taught him his business?
What expert would he have gone to for advice,
   what school would he attend to learn justice?
What god do you suppose might have taught him what he knows,
   showed him how things work?
Why, the nations are but a drop in a bucket,
   a mere smudge on a window.
Watch him sweep up the islands
   like so much dust off the floor!
There aren’t enough trees in Lebanon
   nor enough animals in those vast forests
   to furnish adequate fuel and offerings for his worship.
All the nations add up to simply nothing before him—
   less than nothing is more like it. A minus.

(Its a bit longer because it includes the verses before and after the ones I had selected.  Potent stuff this!)

This is not a sign from God or anything.  But I like doing stuff like this… numbers from tickets into scripture.

why not?  it’s just me including my Father in all I do.  (well I am trying)

I do remember when I was younger I use to set my alarm clock to 06H33 so that when I woke up and saw my clockI would be reminded of: Matthew 6: 33

“But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.”

I like to give more thought to God.  Everyday spirituality, no?

 

Author:

I am an aspiring and up and coming writer. Dubbed the wondering wanderer. Do come check out my stories.

2 thoughts on “I sometimes do this…

  1. “All the nations add up to simply nothing before him—
    less than nothing is more like it. A minus.”

    But surely, they do not add up to nothing they all add up to something and in seeing this he has so much more in his creation, like thankfulness, fun, laughter, a helping hand that he can observe and feel warmth from, because in all the obscurity of war and all the bad stuff, hiding behind little shelters are people who help and pray. An entire nation may not seem enough but along the line I think it maybe it is. Therefore, a plus??? From the first ever church that was built on the mount, through all the ages, all those centuries the fact that the story of Jesus and the knowledge of God says it all. So its not just now, its billions of people through that long a period of which are whom are accounted for all at once in time. So maybe not a plus more like a little shining star of hope like from that story with the candle. A man walks through in the dark and sees a candle and its hope.

    i’m jabbering too much, maybe shut up now haha! see what you think?

    1. Hey Hannah, good point you have here. I think the isaiah passage is refering to God’s worth compared to nations. you see people thing Kings are possessions and things like that are important. but they’re a mere drop in a bucket. they’re nothing much. I kinda see this is God’s CV.

      God is simply awesome. we need to realise that and then live in a BIG way in response to that! If God is for us, who can be against us. thanks for the comment.

      I like the idea that we carry a candle of hope. We must keep doing that. make a difference, bring hope and love wherever we go. 🙂

Leave a Reply

