Posted in Travels

Graffiti of Holland

“I went to Amsterdam, did not get the shirt, never saw the red light district or smoke the hash… but I did go… I got photo proof.”
Bicester, 25 May 2011

“Sitting in my dad’s wheelchair, whilst sitting in a moving train is rather exhilarating! It’s like we brought a portable camp chair with us.”
On a train, 19 May 2011

“Oh boy, driving on the right hand side is gonna be interesting.”
Amsterdam – Schiphol Airport, 19 May 2011

“Sleeping in an antic, and writing my thoughts down each day, made me feel a little like Anne Frank, who also stayed in an Antic under very different circumstances.”
Bicester, 1 June 2011

“It’s like God knew that Him and I would meet here under this steeple looking up at these stars.”
Meije, 21 May 2011

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

“It would take a long time to get use to this church clock chiming every half hour and on each hour. Dong, dong, dong… 3am. And I thought I slept through all noises?”
Meije, 20 May 2011 (3 am)

“I’m really impressed with how my Afrikaans knowledge helps me understand a lot of the Dutch I hear around me.”
Holland, May 2011

“This never happens to me. A beautiful girl, smiling at me on the bus… I must be hot in Dutch land?”
Amsterdam, 20 May 2011

“Keukenhof is this famous flower show, pretty cool that I got to come here; some astounding colours here.”
Lisse, 20 May 2011

“Amsterdam Hard Rock Café was super. Nice setting along the canal, pretty cool that my badge collection is growing quite quickly.” Amsterdam, 20 May 2011

“Like writing helped Anne Frank in her troubled situation, so I find writing helps me too.”
(I really just identified with that a lot more on that day.)
Amsterdam, 20 May 2011

“I saw groups of friends, sitting together, along the walls of the canals and at the tables in the falling sunshine, sipping on beer, I longed for that. To be in a cool holiday destination like this with a group of good friends…”
Amsterdam, 20 May 2011

“This alone time, riding this old school Dutch bicycle along this small country road is rather liberating and refreshing for my soul.”
Die Meije, 21 May 2011

“Hmmm, that dam looks a little rough, but what the heck, adventure beckons; let’s just give it a bash…”
On a canal near the Meije, 22 May 2011

“Oops, we sunk Oom Jaap’s boat”
A few hours later

“It is funny how 2 people see a situation very differently? So often the storyteller makes themselves the hero in a particular situation.”
Reflecting on boat sinking, 22 May 2011

“Wow, my Dutch relatives, whoever far down the line, they’re related to me… they’re awesome!” Woerden, 21 May 2011

“There was just something about him. Even though Oom Jaap was battling on the inside there seemed to be a peace and a deep spirituality about him.”
Reflecting after meeting Oom Jaap, 21 May 2011

“Gezellig; what an awesome word… this moment most certainly feels like that”
Woerden, 21 May 2011

Meaning of Gezellig:

The term encompasses the heart of Dutch culture, as the Dutch tend to love all things gezellig.
You’re welcome to try and pronounce it: heh-SELL-ick. You may first want to listen to the pronunciation [about 3/4 down the page].
Locals and foreigners alike will tell you that the word can not be translated. Its meaning includes everything from cozy to friendly, from comfortable to relaxing, and from enjoyable to gregarious.

According to Wikipedia, “A perfect example of untranslatability is seen in the Dutch language through the word gezellig, which does not have an English equivalent. Literally, it means cozy, quaint, or nice, but can also connote time spent with loved ones, seeing a friend after a long absence, or general togetherness.”

“Overall, what a great trip… I got to see my land of my surname heritage: I got to experience a bit of Dutch culture, from some food, travelling along canals, laughing along to their sense of humour, and hearing my dad’s mother tongue.”
Holland, May 2011

Author:

I am an aspiring and up and coming writer. Dubbed the wondering wanderer. Do come check out my stories.

3 thoughts on “Graffiti of Holland

  1. nice to read your weblog.
    I recognize a lot of things I believe in GOD!, i like adventures, and really we are family (my mother and your grandfather (Aris-Howick) are nephew and cousin)

    see my latetst adventure Holland – Spain by bike.
    http://winsumsantiago.blogspot.com/

    nice to meet you on internet!
    God bless you.

    1. Koen, I ben Aris’s zoon en woont hier in Engeland, heeft net met mijn vader per telefoon gesproken maar hy zij dat hy niet meer kan zien om emails te shrijven
      Groete Willem

Leave a Reply

