Posted in Sacred Spaces

Sacred Spaces 284– Practical God

 

(Hey all, I am really excited to share and show the new Sacred Spaces logo.  Thanks to my friend, Brad for designing and creating the logo for me.  I appreciate it big time.  Please do support Brad and his dad, Butch’s business here:FAB)

(And please feel free to tell others who are looking for some work in corporate and media productions.)

 

Pearl Jam – The Fixer

“Yeah, hey, hey
When something’s dark, let me shed a little light on it
When something’s cold, let me put a little fire on it
If something’s old, I wanna put a bit of shine on it
When something’s gone, I wanna fight to get it back again”

 

I like this song by Pearl Jam.  It’s practical!  It was written by Eddie Vedder in light of how men and women are different and how men mostly want to help… by doing something practical.

 

In some ways I sense we as Christians have lost our practicality?

I have been sensing that some people see Jesus as “some guy up in the clouds smiling down on us.”

 

How incorrect have we become!  I even use to say to others in encouragement… that “God is smiling down on us.”  How impractical?  How distant I myself have made Him.  God is right here, right now.  We even are reminded many times in the New Testament that God lives within us by His Holy Spirit.

 

(I recommend you watch Louie Giglio’s “Supernatural Life Inside” here: Louie Giglio Talk )

 

If that is true, then how differently we should all live our lives as Christ followers here in 2011.

Lately I have been thinking of how practical God is.  1 + 1 = 2.
So if I’m struggling with something, add the power, grace and strength of Jesus, then victory is ours.
But people are doubtful.  Is it that easy?  Well, why could it not be?

 

Philippians 4: 13 “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.”

 

–       If we struggle with self-confidence and worth; then we should know & hear and believe in what Jesus says about us.  His belief and value and love for us.  When we see ourselves through His eyes; then we live out our lives more confidently.

–       If one battles with lust, we take ACTIVE measures to prevent ourselves from getting into those situations where we’re tempted to lust.  No smsing/texting at particular times.  Pray, God strengthens you in times of temptation when surfing the net.  Ask God to help you see people and His beloved children (sons and daughters of God Almighty himself.)

–       If it’s depression (and this may be a little controversial), but I wanted to know, and I’m hopeful in believing that “the joy of the Lord is our strength.” (Nehemiah 8: 10)

–       If it’s studying for an exam.  Could we not ask God to give us the ability to remember our work clearly and also the discipline to sit down and study?  God is that practical… I believe!

I met with this young person recently and we were talking about some struggles she was dealing with.  I suggested we could explore how God would see the situation and how God could give her a new perspective in moving forward.

I then saw her 3 weeks later and she was still in the same life place.  She had not changed.

 

Is not the gospel, the good news of Jesus practical?  I think it should be.

 

Yes, I know that ministry involves journeying with people, spending time with them, and urging them to change.  But sometimes we’re just so passive about that.

 
In some situations, change is not overnight… HOWEVER are people even just taking the first step towards it?

 
Come on, Philippians 4: 13 is true.  Through His strength we can change.

Through the power of Jesus, mindsets can be shifted.
Through His love, forgiveness can happen.
Through His grace and might generational beliefs (or curses) can be broken.

 
God is practical.  Right here and right now in 2011. Now, live it!

Author:

I am an aspiring and up and coming writer. Dubbed the wondering wanderer. Do come check out my stories.

Leave a Reply

