Posted in Uncategorized

a Holy Counsel (I went for a drive and then is what I wrote.. not whilst driving)

A HOLY COUNSEL

We all need counsel.

We need some sort of direction.  Some answers.  Some help in something we’re facing.

 

Another use of the word: counsel; is a sort of gathering of people.

Now a Holy Counsel, that sounds rather important.

 

Can we be part of that?

 

Among many there are 2 specific holy counsels I want to look at from Scripture.

 

i)             Moses and God

Exodus 33 & 34

(It’s a rather long passage so pick up that bible of yours and take a look inside)

Moses has been journeying with God for a while up to this point.  Argued with Him, and seen God do incredible things.  (Similar to a lot of our Christian journeys)

 

Then Moses asks the coolest thing of God ever: 33: 18 “Now show me your glory”

God replies “I will cause all my goodness to pass in front of you, and I will proclaim my name, the LORD in your presence… But, you cannot see my face, for no one may see me and live.” (vs. 19, 20)

That’s hectic!  Getting to see God up close and personal…

And then a few verses later; “when Aaron and all the Israelites saw Moses; his face was radiant (because he had spoken with the LORD.)” (34: 30)

 

Moses had been touched by God’s grace.  He would never be the same again.  (How often, are we seemingly touched by God and then settle back into our old destructive ways?)

 

But what happened in that Holy Counsel?  Moses was given the new stone tablets with instruction on how the Israelites were to live the way of our good God.  That counsel led to action.

 

Same in our own lives, our counsel with God has to lead to action.

It’s all good to meet with God; but then where does God lead you to?  Who else needs to know of His love?  Who needs a helping hand?  Who else needs the touch of grace?

 

ii)            Jesus & Elijah & Moses (Peter, James and John witnessing this)

Mark 9: 2 – 13

Known as the transfiguration; Jesus’ closer disciples got to experience an incredible moment with Him; right before their eyes wrapped in dazzling white, appearing before them; Moses & Elijah and Jesus have a little counsel.  We’re not told what is discussed there…but we know afterwards Jesus is strengthened for the task at hand and the disciples themselves have their hearts stirred for a greater calling birthing in their lives.

I like how sometimes in the presence of God; we get all tongue tied and silly and just overwhelmed; Peter says to Jesus in the transfiguration “It is good to for us to be here, let us put up 3 shelters, one for you, one for Moses and one for Elijah.  (He did not know what to say, they were so frightened) (9: 5, 6)

I love that!  See what it says in brackets: “He did not know what to say” the writer knew that in this incredible moment of worship and wonder that was a rather silly thing for Peter to say.  He was tongue tied… caught in awe.  And typical guy “he wanted to get practical.”  To build shelters; what on earth for!?  So maybe sometimes; we just need to rest in Jesus.

 

And those times of refreshing lead to restoration which in turn leads to a life in full…

 

So do this still happen today?

Can we have that sort of Holy Counsel today? Yes and yes!

 

i)             With others

Matthew 18: 19 – 20

“Again, I tell you that if two of you on earth agree about anything you ask for, it will be done for you, by my Father in heaven.  For where two or three come together in my name, there I am with them.

There is power when Christians get together.  Not just to bible study or pray.  But to do potent things for Jesus in the world; (We all know, that we can look out in any direction in the world and realise the world needs a Saviour.) What is the mission God has placed on your heart?  When last have we discussed with another; “how can we make this world a better place?”

In the name of Jesus, a lot can be done!

ii)            On our own (the work of the Holy Spirit)

There is this scripture in Proverbs that urges us to not lean on our own understanding.

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him and he will make your paths straight.” (Proverbs 3: 5, 6)

Jesus wants to help us.  He even gave us His Holy Spirit to be our “Counsellor”

“And I will ask the Father, and he will give you another Counsellor to be with you forever – the Spirit of truth.” (John 14: 16, 17)

So what does this mean for us today?

–       God still gives wise counsel

–       God is concerned about all things of our lives.  (From the naming of our children, knowing what university to go to, in purchasing a home, all these worldly things that don’t seem “spiritual” enough…to handing over the struggles we deal with each day)

–       God still speaks

–       Question is: are we still listening?  And more than that; are we obeying Him?

 

Last thing, the fact that we get to meet with God; wow, how incredible is that.  We forget how amazing that is.  God would meet with you and me.  That’s grace!

 

I’m reminded of the great song by 3rd Day, “Show me your glory”

“I can’t go on without You, Lord when I climb down the mountain

And get back to my life I won’t settle for ordinary things

I’m gonna follow You forever and for all of my days

I won’t rest ’til I see You again”

Author:

I am an aspiring and up and coming writer. Dubbed the wondering wanderer. Do come check out my stories.

Leave a Reply

